Skip to content ↓
Southfields Primary School

Southfields Primary School

EYFS Assessments

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

Throughout the foundation stage, as part of the learning and teaching process, practitioners assess each child’s development in relation to the Development Matters and Early Learning Goals (ELG) criteria that form part of the Early Years Curriculum. These assessments are made on the basis of the practitioner’s accumulating observations and knowledge of the whole child.  This in line with Statutory guidance DFE January 2018.

The Early Years Curriculum sets out seven areas of learning covering children’s physical, intellectual, emotional and social development. Items are BOLD are the Prime Areas. All of these areas of learning are included in the EYFS Profile.

    • Personal, social and emotional development

    • Communication and language

    • Mathematics

    • Literacy

    • Understanding the world

    • Physical development

    • Expressive Arts & Design

Teachers also make observations and judgements about whether children are exhibiting the characteristics of effective learning, with some input from parents. These are the ways in which children learn and are as follows:

Playing and exploring – engagement

  • Finding out and exploring

  • Playing with what they know

  • Being willing to ‘have a go’

Active learning – motivation

  • Being involved and concentrating

  • Keeping trying

  • Enjoying achieving what they set out to do

Creating and thinking critically – thinking

  • Having their own ideas

  • Making links

  • Choosing ways to do things

As in Key Stage 1 and 2, progress and attainment are tracked throughout Early Years. A CEM baseline assessment is completed within the first half term. Subsequent progress and attainment will be measured against learning outcomes each half term using Tapestry.  At the end of Reception, children are assessed against a separate set of criteria called Early Learning Goals. If a child has met the criteria in all prime areas as well as Literacy and Maths, they have a ‘Good Level of Development’ or GLD.

In 2019, EYFS are taking part in the NFER Baseline Pilot. This Baseline is intended to ‘allow schools to receive credit for the progress their pupils make throughout their time in primary school.’ ( ‘It is intended that this will be introduced in Autumn 2020’. 

  • Healthy Schools
  • Ofsted Outstanding 2011|2012
  • Ofsted Outstanding 2008|2009
  • Logo
  • Leeds Inclusion Chartermark
  • Arts Council England
  • Financial Management Standard in Schools
  • Arts Mark